Sunday, March 23, 2014

Saturday Music Club: there's always room for some 3rd Stream Music:

Charles Mingus Band: "Minor Intrusion"

Toshiko Akiyoshi: "The Village"

Susana Raya: "The Wind"

The Modern Jazz Quartet: "Plastic Dreams"

from the 1971 album; John Lewis on harpsichord

Brubeck Quartet: "Unisphere"

Dave Brubeck (p), Paul Desmond (as), Eugene Wright (b), Joe Morello (d); Helsinki, October 6, 1964.

Bob Prince and His Orchestra: "Germination"

Paul Bley: "Ida Lupino"

Teo Macero and His Orchestra: "T.C.'s Groove"

George Russell Smalltet: "Ezz-thetic"

George Russell (bandleader/composer), Barry Galbraith (guitar), Bill Evans (piano), Art Farmer (trumpet), Hal McKusick (bass clarinet), Milt Hinton (bass), and Joe Harris (drums).

Hamilton Quintet: "In a Sentimental Mood"

Eric Dolphy (alto sax); Nate Gershman (cello); John Pisano (guitar); Hal Gaylor (bass); Chico Hamilton (drums)

No comments: